Spinning Fast

I’m so harried these days, no time at all. You know, people say you have to take time out for things yourself, but what if that is simply not possible? What if you wake up at 7, arrive at college at 8, spend the next seven hours rushing from one class to the other, reach home at 3, and then dive straight into the huge pile of reading material for quizzes and assignments, resurface at about 10 in the night and by that time you’re so exhausted that you collapse on the bed without even bothering to change into your night suit? (oh and add in the time you’re spending getting together a magazine that just doesn’t want to come together).

And to top it all off I’m obsessed with this woman and her work.

 

Contusion

Color floods to the spot, dull purple.
The rest of the body is all washed out,
The color of pearl.

In a pit of rock
The sea sucks obsessively,
One hollow the whole sea’s pivot.

The size of a fly,
The doom mark
Crawls down the wall.

The heart shuts,
The sea slides back,
The mirrors are sheeted.

– Sylvia Plath

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Spinning Fast

  1. Nas says:

    Ah Sylvia Plath! I remember her from my days of GCSE English. She wrote Tulips didn’t she? Very depressing indeed.

  2. Nicole says:

    I know that feeling. I miss the college life.
    I’ve never heard of Sylvia Plath – I love her word choice. Vivid.

  3. willowdot21 says:

    Hold on to those college days, life just gets faster and faster! A downward spiral to the plug hole , black. I am not sure about Sylvia Plait , so sad to take her own life … that is a poem she would of loved to write.

  4. Androgoth says:

    Yes are there really enough hours in a day to fulfil
    every single task? Unfortunately not but one does
    one’s best and carries on my friend, and so another
    day begins… Do have a most enjoyable Sunday 🙂

    I arrived here from a link offered upon Willowdot 21

    Androgoth

  5. Tazeen says:

    I have never read Sylvia Plath but because I keep hearing a lot about her, I’ve put her on my reading list.

Comment!