Things Do Get Better…

The storm has finally died down, the waves are gentle, the wind subdued.

Err… I’m talking about college. I’ve finally got my time table sorted out, phew, relief.

College is an extremely interesting place, the sights, sounds, people, places, empty classrooms with random gibberish on the white board from whatever the previous lecture had been. We had a class in one classroom where some girls had been lounging in a free slot, the whiteboard was filled with “Liquor Store Blues” lyrics by Bruno Mars. The teacher spent quite a long time reading them, and then asked which one of us had been struck with such inspiration as to write such a good “poem”. Giggles and titters filled the room.

“Give me this one shot for my pain
One drag for my sorrow
Get messed up today
I’ll be okay tomorrow”

I’ve never found it easy to make friends. People think I’m weird because I read on the bus and occasionally take out my notepad to jot down a quick poem. I don’t think that’s particularly odd. but I have made friends. Acquaintances, at this point. But it’s just been two days.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Things Do Get Better…

  1. Nicole says:

    * Wow, sorry for all of the posts, but I need to reword my first sentence! This is what I meant:

    Don’t worry about the people who think you’re weird (if they are even thinking that). That’s great that you jot down poems in public – it’s part of what makes you you.
    College is a great and unforgettable experience for most. I graduated in May and I miss it already. I went to an arts school for creative writing, so I did what you did all the time (I couldn’t help it!) – nobody found it to be strange.
    I’m sure you can make friends – make sure to get out often, check out events on campus, join a club/become a part of something – those things really do work. Maybe there’s a writing club or classes you can look into.
    Like you said, it’s just been two days. It definitely takes time for friendships to develop!
    Have lots of fun!

  2. First few days at something new, I just can’t help being overwhelmed. But I’m loving it already =)
    Thank you so much for dropping by!

  3. Nicole says:

    Not a problem. I enjoy reading your blog.
    I understand what you mean!

  4. Tazeen says:

    You sound like myself. The person who reads on the bus and jots down stray thoughts. I don’t know why but I’m smiling. I’ve never met a person like me.

Comment!

