College 101

The Under-Grad block

I am entitled to freaking out. Today was the first day of college. Two words: Total chaos. Majors, minors, generals, cores; it wouldn’t be wrong to say I’m buried neck deep in utter and total perplexity. For this semester we have to study one major course (Media studies 101), three cores (English, Islamiyat, Computers 101) and two generals (no idea which ones I want to choose).

The last part is where the problem lies, generals. Do I want to study French, German, Arabic, Persian, Chinese? Or maybe give Philosophy, Political science, Women studies, Food and Nutrition a try? Or do I play it safe by choosing what I do best, Creative writing?

First day and I already have an assignment to make *bangs head on keyboard* dgisifjskdjf

Sorry.

Remind me to wear sneakers tomorrow. Flat sandals leave you with terribly sore feet after running around the whole classes looking for a classroom that apparently does not even exist. But it’s in the time-table, and rooms just don’t disappear. Neither do number plates erode completely.

Note: Ice-cold soda is not a good idea if you’re out of breath. Severe heart burn.

And the people. Ah, the people. The less said about them, the better. A bunch of confused girls left lose in a huge campus is a sight to behold. Close observation will make you laugh so hard, you’ll need stitches, in all honesty. I know I do.

“Elements of Communication” is the assignment, the deadline is TOMORROW. We’re not supposed to even open Wikipedia. God help me. Or you, I’d be eternally grateful. Thank you. Bye.

P.S. I can’t access my gmail account. Why can’t I access my gmail account. Why??

Tagged , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “College 101

  1. Ph_ says:

    Go with what you are best 🙂
    LOL We get surprise quizzes and assignments daily, it is second semester and I am still not used to it LOL 😛 😀

  2. College Eloquence says:

    I say pick German, but I’m a bit biased since I’ve been learning it slowly since high school.

    Also, it’s all stressful now, but soon enough it’ll be normal. If you go to your adviser they can be really helpful when it comes to setting up a study plan of the courses you’ll be taking until you graduate. 🙂

  3. asoulwalker says:

    I remember getting to college and thinking, “what should I major in?”
    My advisor said to me, “what do you like to do?”
    I said, “I like to read and write… and I like to think.” So of course she suggested I either study english or philosophy. I thought to myself, “do I really want to study poetry and writing– and more importantly, “do I really want to write about it?” And so I chose philosophy. I don’t regret it. But I do laugh sometimes that that was how I made my decision.

  4. Sheilagh Lee says:

    good luck I hope you learn to enjoy this wonderful opportunity and that you meet soem wonderful interesting people

  5. Cynthia says:

    Wow! Good luck with all that. The first day of college can be a terror.
    Go with Chinese and Philosophy – the classes are so hard you will be
    super proud of yourself – and each subject will come in majorally handy.

  6. asoulwalker says:

    I also love that your last post opens with a quote from wikipedia…

  7. Tazeen says:

    I wonder which generals you chose. I read this post the day you posted it but couldn’t comment from my cell phone. I forgot all about it but I really wanted to tell you take up the subject you were good at: Creative Writing, apart from Political Science, which isn’t as boring as the name suggests. Though I chose IR (International Relations — slightly wider than Political Science because it covers more than just politics) and this is the last semester that I’ve to study it, I’m going to miss it, I know.

Comment!

